Residency

The question of residency must be asked of each student at the time of admission. It is the student’s responsibility to provide documentation to the College to establish residency.  When completing an application for admission, students will be asked to provide documentation of the following: identity, lawful presence in the US, and domicile.  All three categories must be fulfilled in order for CCC to determine residency.  Residency classification determines tuition costs (current rates can be found on the Tuition Pricing page).

 

Coconino Community College is supported by Coconino County taxpayers; the lowest in-district tuition rate reflects their contributions. Residency classification policy is defined by the CCC District Governing Board according to Arizona State law.

 

Documentation

Identity

Examples of documents students can submit to prove identity usually include, but are not limited to:

 

Type of Document Notes

Arizona driver's license, instruction permit or non-operator ID

must not be expired
Driver's license, instruction permit or non-operator ID from any state must not be expired
US military ID card (active duty, reserve or retired), military dependent ID card, military driver's license   

School ID or government agency/employer-issued ID

must include photo
Passport or passport card if non-US passport, Visa also required

Lawful presence

Examples of documents students can submit to prove lawful presence usually include, but are not limited to:

 

Type of Document Notes

Arizona driver's license, instruction permit or non-operator ID

must not be expired
Driver's license, instruction permit or non-operator ID from any state with a travel ID star must not be expired

Driver's license, instruction permit or non-operator ID from any state that verifies lawful presence (states that do not qualify: Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Texas, Utah, and Washington)

must not be expired
US military ID card (active duty, reserve or retired), military dependent ID card, military driver's license   

Birth certificate verifying US citizenship

 
Social security card  
Passport or passport card if non-US passport, Visa also required
BIA or tribal ID card, affidavit of birth, or Tribal Certificate of Indian Blood (CIB)  

Domicile

Examples of documents students can submit to prove domicile usually include, but are not limited to:

 

Type of Document Notes

Arizona driver's license, instruction permit or non-operator ID

Issued more than 12 months prior to start of enrollment term
Driver's license, instruction permit or non-operator ID from any state Issued more than 12 months prior to start of enrollment term

Motor vehicle registration

 

Voter registration

 
High school transcript For students who have been out of high school less than one year

 

Definitions, Exceptions, and Frequently Asked Questions

What does 'Domicile' mean?


Arizona Revised Statute (A.R.S. 15-1801) defines domicile as a person’s true, fixed, and permanent home and place of habitation. It is the place where one intends to remain and to which one expects to return when one leaves without intending to establish a new domicile elsewhere.

 

Arizona/Coconino County residency is demonstrated by severing ties to your former state/county. This must be completed 12 months prior to the the start of the semester in which you will enroll and be maintained throughout the 12 month period.  This must be paired with evidence showing domicile in Arizona/Coconino County beyond the purpose of being a student.

 

Presence in Arizona/Coconino County alone does not mean a student is an in-state or in-county Resident.

 

State law indicates no individual has established residency for tuition purposes while attending as a full-time student. State law also indicates that a non-resident student’s presence in Arizona is for education, not to establish domicile. You must provide evidence proving otherwise. Future plans in Arizona/Coconino County are not heavily considered; evidence showing how you’ve already established domicile is required.

What are the different CCC Residency Classifications?


Resident: In-District - Students who present evidence that they have been domiciled in Coconino County for twelve consecutive months before the first day of class are entitled to the Resident, in-district tuition rate.

 

Resident: Out-of-District - Students who present evidence that they have been domiciled in Arizona, but outside of Coconino County, for twelve consecutive months before the first day of class are entitled to the Resident, out-of-district tuition rate.

 

Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) - Students who who present evidence that they are permanent residents of one of the states or regions recognized by the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education ( www.wiche.edu ) are entitled to the WUE tuition rate.

 

Non-Resident: Students domiciled outside of Arizona, or students who are not lawfully present in the US, will be assessed the non-resident tuition rate.

Which states/regions qualify for the Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) program?

  • Alaska
  • California
  • Colorado
  • CNMI (Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands)
  • FSM (Federal States of Micronesia)
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Oregon
  • RMI (Republic of the Marshall Islands)
  • South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • Wyoming

Do I need to apply for the Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) tuition rate?

No.  Students are automatically considered for WUE during the CCC application process (or if appealing their residency determination) when they submit residency documentation. 

 

All degree and certificate programs are eligible for the WUE tuition rate, however some individual courses may have a differential tuition level not eligible for the WUE rate. 

 

Additional information about the Western Undergraduate Exchange program is available on the WICHE website at  https://www.wiche.edu/tuition-savings/wue/ .   

I'm a high school student taking CCC classes, do I need to establish residency?

If you are only taking Dual Enrollment or CAVIAT classes, no, you do not need to establish residency.

 

If you are under 18 and/or have not yet graduated from high school and are taking CCC classes (called Concurrent enrollment), you will need to establish residency.  You will do so by completing a Domicile Affidavit form (found on the Registration & Enrollment Services Forms page ) and submitting with documentation that proves your identity and lawful presence.  You will use your parent's information to prove domicile.

What if I believe my residency classification is incorrect?

Students who would like to appeal their residency status can do so by completing a Domicile Affidavit form (found on the Registration & Enrollment Services Forms page ) and submitting with documentation that proves identity, lawful presence, and domicile. 

 

Appeals for reclassification for past terms are not accepted.

 

Explore exceptions to the policy

A person is not entitled to classification as an in-state/in-district student until domiciled in Arizona/Coconino County for one year (12-consecutive months) before enrollment unless he or she meets one of the following requirements.

 

Dependent students


The student's parent is in Arizona/Coconino County, and that parent claims the student as a dependent for state and federal tax purposes.

 

-OR-

 

The student’s spouse has established domicile in Arizona/Coconino County for at least one year and claims the student as a dependent for state and federal tax purposes.  If the student is a non-citizen, the student must also be in an eligible visa status under federal law.

Employee Transfer


The student is an employee or spouse of an employee transferred to this state for employment purposes.

Arizona teacher or classroom aide


The student is an employee of a school district in this state and is under contract to teach on full-time basis or is employed as a full-time non-certified classroom aid at a school within the district. In-state/in-district tuition is only for courses necessary to complete the requirements for certification by the state board of education to teach in a district in this state. No family members are eligible for classification as an in-state student.

Native American tribe member


A person who is a member of a Native American tribe recognized by the United States Department of the Interior whose reservation land lies in the state and extends into another state and who is a resident of the reservation is entitled to classification as an in-state, out-of-district student.

Military


Current members of the armed forces or former members who have received an honorable discharge and their spouse and dependents are classified as Resident: In-District as specified in A.R.S. §15-1802.

AmeriCorps


A person who has participated in the AmeriCorps program or volunteers in service to an American program for at least one year in this state is entitled to classification as an in-state, out-of-district student.

Apache or Greenlee County Resident


Students domiciled in Apache and Greenlee counties are classified as Resident, In District.

Kane County, Utah Resident


Kane County, Utah students who are lawfully present in the U.S.. pay a tuition rate equivalent to Resident, Out-of-District tuition up to six (6) credit hours per term.