Registration - Frequently Asked Questions
Students may apply online through the College website onb the Apply Now page.
Your Comet ID is within the content of your Letter of Admission. This letter is delivered to the email address you provided when applying to the College. You can expect the letter to arrive within 24 hours.
- A student must reside 12 consecutive months in the state of Arizona
- Dependent up to 24 years’ old
- Parent has 1-year residence in Arizona; Student may move to Arizona from another state to live with father or mother (typically seen in divorces) and is eligible for in-state residency.
- Parent does not have 1-year residence in Arizona; Arizona will not penalize student for having to move with parent to Arizona. Student is entitled to in-state residency; parent is not until they establish 12 consecutive months in AZ.
- Company transferred student to Arizona for business
- Employee of School District
- Spouse of Arizona Resident
- Military Placement in Arizona
- Honorable Discharge/Active Duty Death
- Member & Residency on Arizona Reservation
View the Arizona Revised Statutes for exception to this law on the Arizona State Legislature site, or visit Enrollment Services.
Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE):
The Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) and its 16 members work collaboratively to expand education access and excellence for all citizens of the West. Members include Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, U.S. Pacific Territories and Freely Associated States, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming. Tuition is 150% of standard rate of tuition.
A person who is not a citizen, a legal resident of the U.S., or who is without lawful immigration status is not entitled to classification as an in-state student.
This applies to all students attending Coconino Community College.
Students who fail to provide proof of eligibility will be charged out-of-state tuition and cannot receive tuition waivers, grants, scholarship assistance, financial aid, tuition assistance or any other type of financial assistance that is subsidized or paid in whole or in part with state (Arizona) monies.
Submission of one of the following documents may be accepted as evidence of meeting this requirement:
- Arizona Driver’s License or non-operator ID issued by the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) after October 1, 1996
- Driver’s License issued in a state, territory or possession of the U.S., plus one additional government issued document
- Birth certificate showing student was born in the United States, which includes Puerto Rico (on or after January 13, 1941), Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands (on or after January 17, 1917), American Samoa, Swain's Island, or the Northern Mariana Islands, unless you were born to foreign diplomats residing in the U.S.
- U.S. passport, current or expired, except limited passports (which are typically issued for short periods such as a year and which do not receive as much scrutiny as a regular passport when applying). In the case of nationals who are not citizens, the passport will be stamped "Non-citizen National."
- Bureau of Indian Affairs Card Number, Tribal Treaty Card Number, or Tribal Enrollment Number
- Tribal Certificate of Indian Blood or Tribal or Bureau of Indian Affairs Affidavit of Birth
- Form FS-240 (Consular Report of Birth Abroad), FS-545 (Certificate of Birth issued by a Foreign Service post), or DS-1350 (Certification of Report of Birth). These are State Department documents.
- Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561), issued by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services in the Department of Homeland Security to individuals who derive U.S. citizenship through a parent
- Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570), issued by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services in the Department of Homeland Security through a federal or state court, or through administrative naturalization after December 1990 to those who are individually naturalized
- Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551 since 1997) or Resident Alien Card (Form I-551 before 1997) issued to students who are permanent residents
- Form I-94 or I-94A annotated with a stamp showing admission under Section 207 of the Immigration Nationality Act (INA). They may also have the old Refugee Travel Document (Form I-571) or the new U.S. Travel Document mentioned above annotated with "Refugee Travel Document Form I-571 (Rev. 9-2-03) issued to refugee.
- Form I-94 or I-94A with a stamp showing admission under Section 208 of the INA issued to persons granted asylum in the U.S. They may also have the same travel documents described under refugees above
- Current part or full-time employment by the university with a completed and verified I-9
- Students who successfully complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and the university receives a valid acknowledgement from the U.S. Department of Education. (A U.S. citizen student needs only to file the FAFSA and receive acknowledgement that NAU has received it for this to serve as proof of eligibility of citizenship.)
The online Class Schedule can be found at www.coconino.edu > Quick Links > Class Schedule and follow the directions.
Go to the College website at www.coconino.edu > Quick Links > myCCC Portal > Registration > select semester and follow directions.
Absolutely. Visit the front reception desk at each location and the Enrollment Services staff and assist you. Hours may vary by location.
The Adult Basic Education department is located at our 4th Street Campus. Go to the Adult Education page for more information.
The Nursing Department is located on our Fourth Street Campus. The Associates of Applied Science in Nursing degree course requirements can be found at https://www.coconino.edu/nursing-aas. Additional questions can be asked by calling the Nursing Department at 928 226-7640.
You were probably dropped for non-payment and exceeded your limit for being dropped, this will create a hold on your account. Please contact Student Accounts at 928-226-4376 to speak to a representative.
If you were dropped by an instructor for not attending in the first week of class, your student account will be assessed a $40 per credit hour fee and you will need to re-register at Enrollment Services.
You will be asked to complete and submit an add/drop form. Tuition will be due at time of registration.
I'm trying to register, but there is an advising hold on my account and I already met with my advisor, why?
Your advisor possibly forgot to remove the advising hold. Please call or visit your advisor that you met with so that they can remove the hold.
You must sign and submit in person a Student Authorization To Release Information form, (Financial Aid Forms) authorizing CCC to release your specific information to the person(s) you have designated. If your parent/spouse wants information in person, their picture ID is still required to verify whom we can release information to regarding your financial aid file. We cannot identify a student/parent/spouse over the phone, which means we will not give out any detailed information on your file. We can only release general information over the phone.
College important dates and deadlines are listed on the annual Academic Calendar. Go to https://www.coconino.edu/registration, scroll down to Academic Calendar and select the calendar year.
The normal full-time academic load is defined as 12-credit hours per semester. A student may take no more than 18 credit hours in a single fall or spring semester without prior approval. A student with a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher is eligible to petition to the Registrar to carry in excess of the 18-hour maximum. Exceptions to this procedure may be considered on a case-by-case basis.
Summer classes are intensive; therefore, the recommended maximum academic load for the entire summer is 12-credit hours. A student with a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or higher is eligible to petition to the Registrar to carry credit hours in excess of the 12 credit hour maximum. Exceptions to this procedure are considered on a case-by-case basis.
Some courses require prerequisite(s) prior to enrollment. In some cases, faculty have approved that prerequisite(s) can be waived if the instructor has determined that the student has adequate knowledge to be successful in completing the course. Not all courses have the “consent of instructor” option. This can be verified by reviewing the Catalog course description.
Prerequisite is something that a student must complete (or be enrolled in for a previous term) before the start date of the desired class.
Co-requisite is something that a student can complete prior to, or at the same time as, the desired class.
- Dual Enrollment: These are students currently in high school and wish to take college-level courses taught at the high school. Students receive credit on their high school and college transcripts.
- CAVIAT: These are students currently in high school and wish to take college-level courses taught at the college. Student will receive college credit and credit may transfer back to the high school depending on the school district procedures.
DegreeWorks can be accessed through your myCCC student portal by clicking on DegreeWorks.
Visit our Campus Hours page for a list of building hours.
You can ask any of our faculty or staff; they would be happy to assist you. You can also go to https://www.coconino.edu/contact-us to locate a campus map of each of our locations.
The Welcome Desk is located in lobby of the main entrance to the College as you pass through the double doors at the main entrance. Please asked the representatives for any assistance in leaving faculty messages, etc.
- If you were dropped for non-payment: Contact Student Accounts to make payment arrangements. Once complete, visit Enrollment Services to be reenrolled. If the class has met capacity, we may require an Add slip along with an email directed to the Registrar approving the overload in the class.
- If you were dropped by your instructor: Contact your instructor to resolve this issue. Enrollment Services will require a signed Add slip from your instructor and an email directed to the Registrar approving the reinstatement.
Students must login to their MyCCC > Student > Student Records > Enrollment Verification and student information to complete the enrollment verification process.
As soon as final grades have been submitted by faculty and the Registrar has posted grades to academic history, students may access final grades through DegreeWorks. Go to myCCC student portal > DegreeWorks tab at top of screen> Click on highlighted DegreeWorks > Click on DegreeWorks box in middle of screen > enter your @ID and enter > scroll down to grades.
- Change of Address: Go to Banner Self-Service > click on Personal Information > click on Name Change Information > and complete information.
- Change of Name is a form found on our Forms webpage.
Students must request a permanent name change with the Registration and Enrollment Services office. This change in name requires supporting legal documentation that reflects the name change. Supporting documentation is limited to the following: marriage license, divorce decree, court order for a legal name change, U.S. military identification, passport, or visa. Submit the completed form with supporting documentation in person or by mail to the Enrollment Services.