Academic Affairs

an image of faculty at Commencement

Welcome to Coconino Community College!
We are honored you are considering CCC as your next step in your educational pathway.  

Coconino Community College offers our students an excellent academic experience with engaged faculty, rigorous coursework, and a commitment to student success.  We strive to help you meet your educational goals, whether you are taking classes for personal interest, are seeking a degree or certificate, are interested in workforce training, or are planning to transfer to a four year institution.  

Office of the Provost


Picture of Dr. Dudley Gardner

Nate Southerland

PhD, Educational Leadership & Policy, University of Utah

MSS, Social Science (International Rural & Community Development), Utah State University

BA, Physics Teaching (Music Minor), Brigham Young University

Sheila Tomjack, Executive Assistant to the Provost

Contact Form


Deans of Learning Services

Kimberly Batty-Herbert, Dean of Learning Services Arts & Sciences

Ed D, Higher Education Leadership, New Mexico State University

MA Speech Communication, Eastern New Mexico University

BS Television Broadcasting, Eastern New Mexico University

Contact Form



Jeff Jones, Dean of Learning Services, CTE and Director of CCC Fourth Street Innovation Center

MA Educational Psychology, Human Relations, Northern Arizona University

BA Psychology, San Jose State University

Contact Form



Picture of math faculty at Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) night At CCC we have an extraordinary team of faculty.  Our faculty members not only provide exceptional classroom instruction but often help advise students through their academic path and into their career field. Our full-time faculty and part-time faculty both meet the same high level of qualifications, as determined by our accrediting body the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) to teach in their subject area.  Full-time faculty credential information is listed below. Part-time faculty information is available by contacting the Academic Operations Coordinator, Summer Dennis This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; 928-226-4025.
Faculty  Subject Area   


Marianne Arini English

Ph.D. Creative Writing

Linda Barker Sociology MA Applied Sociology
Sarah Benton American Sign Language/Interpreter Training Program Faculty; ITP Coordinator

MSW, Concentration Clinical Social Work: Hearing Impaired

David Cain Construction Technology Management Ph.D. Higher Education Administration; MS Industrial Education and Administration; BS Industrial Technology; AA General Studies
Anna Canning English MA English
Judy Charette-Valdez Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) BS Nursing
James Clark Allied Health Diploma in Medical Assisting; Registered Medical Assistant; Certified Medical Assistant Advanced Phlebotomy
Katherine Costa Nursing MS Nursing; BS Nursing
Giriji Dasmahaptra Chemistry Ph.D. Chemistry
Sandra Dihlmann-Lunday English MA The Writing Seminars
Lisa Doskocil Anthropology MA Cultural Anthropology
Douglas Friedman Biology MA Teaching Biology
Adam Gifford Economics, Business  MBA + 19 Graduate Hours in Economics
Christine Gray English, Reading MA Teaching
Nancy Hagerman Allied Health, Nursing MS Nursing

Matthew Hernando 

History, Humanities Ph.D. History and Political Science
Magdalene Inigo Math MS Mathematics
Jennifer Jameson Math MS Mathematics
Edward Knecht Accounting, Economics MBA Accounting
Kathryn Kozak Math MS Mathematics
Maya Lanzetta Math MS Mathematics
Thomas Lehman Biology MS Biology, MS Zoology
Duane Marshall Computer Information Systems, Geology MS Applied Geospatial Systems
Jeremy Martin English MFA Creative Writing
Philip Martinez Math, Physics, Engineering MS Mathematics
Melinda McKinney Biology MS Biology
Cheryl Meilbeck Math MS Education, Mathematics
Michele Metcalf Psychology MA Psychology
Kenneth Myers Construction Technology Management Teaching Construction for Carpentry Journeyman Certification
Alan Petersen Art, Colorado Plateau Studies MA Painting
David Ramos Administration of Justics BA of Applied Science in Public Agency Administration (In Progress) + 21 years industry experience with Coconino Country Sheriff's Office
Sarah Rencher Computer Information Systems M.Ed. Career and Technical Education; BSBA Computer Information Systems
James Rhodes Psychology MA Psychology
Aaron Rizzieri Philosophy Ph.D. Philosophy
David Rudakewich Political Science MS Political Science
Sherri Rudd Nursing MS Nursing (In Progress); BS Nursing 
Katie Schwartz Spanish MA Spanish Teaching
Cindy Scott Accounting, Business MBA Masters of Accounting
Kim Sonier Math MS Mathematics

Kurt Yuengling

Geology Ms Geology; Graduate Certificate in GIS

Academic Support and Resources

Faculty Support Desk
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Faculty Support Desk is an excellent resource for students, faculty, and staff.


Services provided to students:

  • Homework drop off/pick up (with student ID)
  • Help contacting an instructor or finding an instructor's office
  • Notification of cancelled classes 
  • Math Calculator drop off


Services provided to faculty and staff:

  • Classroom supplies (i.e. dry erase markers, scan-tron forms, basic office supplies, etc)
  • Homework drop off/pick up for students
  • Notifying students of cancelled class or change to a class (such as change in day/time)
  • Help with projects 


Academic Operations Coordinator (AOC) help with semester scheduling, work with faculty to develop the 6 semester plan, making hiring recommendations for Part Time instructors, and provide customer service to all faculty and staff.  Additionally, the AOC are the first stop for any student who has an academic-related complaint. 

Academic Operations Coordinator

Room 405


Summer Dennis, M.Ed, Northern Arizona University

Contact Form




Quick Resources

Academic Calendar

 Academic Catalog